Maple Blondies with Maple Frosting

I start the new job tomorrow morning.  I also turn 25 tomorrow morning.  I also woke up with the beginning of a cold that I am trying to kick.  I am not sure what is more scary!

But I do know that there is about 15 inches of snow outside and I am too stuffy (and cranky) to enjoy it.  I did hear that it should snow on my birthday (phew) and during the week!!  Maybe I can enjoy the snow then!

I also know that I had made these amazing Blondies last week from a recipe book that my mom had given back in 2007.  The book is “Cooking with Shelburne Farms” by Melissa Pasaneen and Rick Gencarelli.  It is filled with recipes and stories that are central to Vermont.  My Mom wrote inside “Merry Christmas… to our ‘part-time’ Vermonter.  Love Mom and Dad 2007”.  Little did she know I would become a ‘fill-time’ Vermonter after graduating!

Seeing that sugaring season is just beginning, I felt the need to utilize whatever maple syrup I had left before the fresh batch comes in!  I was missing some ingredients, so I tweaked it a little, but it was still amazing.  Here is my recipe (I can only imagine that the actual recipe is a thousand times better, so I recommend the cookbook!):

For the Blondies:
2 1/4 cups ap flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon table salt
3/4 cups canola oil
1/4 cups maple syrup (grade B for the best flavor)
3/4 cups brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 large egg, beaten

For the Frosting:
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chopped into small cubes
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– Preheat the over to 350°F.  Lightly grease (spray works great) a 9 x 13 in pan.

– In either a food processor or stand mixer, beat the oil, syrup, and sugars until blended.  Add the egg in a slow stream while the mixer is running.

– Mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and add in batches to the creamed sugars while the mixer is running on low speed.

– A dough will form and pull away from the sides.  Transfer the dough to the greased baking pan and spread out evenly.  Note: it is much more firm than brownie mix!  Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Remove and let the pan cool for about 30 minutes before frosting.

Frosting:  While the blondies are in the oven, heat the maple syrup over medium-high heat until boiling.  Immediately reduce the heat and let the syrup simmer for 3 minutes.  Pour the syrup into a food processor and add the confectioners and brown sugar.  Process for 1-2 minutes, until blended… be sure to stop and scrape down the sides.  Add the butter chunks, while the processor is running, until smooth and then add the vanilla.

– When the blondies are cooled (if they are still a little warm, its okay) spread the frosting over them.  Let the frosting set before eating… or if you can’t wait, eat them like I did!! Just expect a little mess!

2 thoughts on “Maple Blondies with Maple Frosting

Leave a Reply

