Fragrant Butternut Squash soup

Today at work, I played with poop.  Yep, that is right.  Poop.  Well, not ‘poop’, but waste water treatment ‘sludge’.  I also didn’t really play with it, but I unfortunately had to handle it.  The smell of fermenting human excretion doesn’t leave your nose for quite a while… what better thing to get rid of that smell than a thanksgiving smelling soup!?! (I have a HARD time loosing my appetite…)

Soup was on my mind all day.  On this cool, dark, and snowy day.  My fridge and ‘pantry’ are looking quite bare, but I did have a nice looking butternut squash.  Since I always keep onions, carrots, and celery… I had the perfect base for a pureed soup.  I also have my place to myself tonight… so something warm and cozy is needed to help me relax.  This recipe made enough to feed an anorexic family of four.  For me, it was a solid dinner with a lunch portion left over.  Feel free to double!

Ingredients:
1 medium butternut squash
1/2 medium onion
2 carrots
1 large stalk of celery
1 medium potato
3 cups vegetable broth
2 cloves garlic
Sage, thyme, and rosemary (other spices as needed)
1 tbsp butter

-Peel all veggies that need to peeled (and the potato).  Chop up.  Since this soup is pureed, no need to dice pretty!

-Melt the butter in a stockpot over medium heat.  Add the garlic and saute for a few minutes.  Then add all of the veggies and few pinches of herbs (heavy on the sage)… saute until browned.  Add the vegetable broth and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover, and let simmer for about 40 minutes.

-When the veggies are soft, pull the soup out in ladle’s and puree in a food processor (if you have an immersion blender… lucky you!)  Return to the stove and let simmer a little longer.  Spice as needed.

 

Leave a Reply

