Raw zucchini and corn salad

I found this recipe on Martha (my idol- minus the prison ordeal). I was going through the 4 paper grocery bags filled with vegetables in the fridge, doing what I could to store some of them before they would rot and I would be sad- I hate throwing out rotten food. Luckily, I caught my neighbors at a good time, and unloaded a bag of vegetables on them! One down. The second bag was filled with tomatoes, which I used to make and can some salsa (with peppers from the third bag!). Two down. The third bag also had some zucchini and summer squash and the fourth had a dozen and a half ears of corn. In order to put a dent in the last two bags, I needed to make something and this is where Martha came along.

The recipe was quick, easy, required no heat, and it tasted amazing. Essentially, it tasted like summer perfection. I found a few variations, like grilling the corn and zucchini beforehand. Personally, I think that would ruin the sweet, untainted, crunch of raw corn kernels. Have you ever tried raw corn?

Raw Corn and Zucchini Salad

3 ears fresh sweet corn

2-3 small zucchini and/or summer squash

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

2 tbsp cilantro

salt and pepper

1. Shuck the corn, removing as much silk as possible. Hold the corn up on a cutting board by the tip. Using a sharp knife, cut down along the ear (WARNING: Kernels may go flying). Rotate the ear until all of the kernels are removed and put into a medium bowl.

2. Chop the zucchini and/or squash into small, thin pieces. Add to the bowl with the corn.

3. Finely chop the cilantro and squeeze the fresh lime juice.

4. Drizzle the mixture with some olive oil and add a little s&p to taste. Toss well.

And because Boomer posed so well for this picture, I wanted to share it! He is modeling his 1-yr birthday gift from his Mommy (me!). I think he will enjoy it during hunting season… dodging bullets doesn’t sound like too much fun.

Leave a Reply

