Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

School started a few weeks ago and the stress of everything weakened my immune system. Two weekends ago, I woke up with a sore throat and the sniffles. What I thought was a little cold caused by lack of sleep, stress, and those germy kids, turned into bronchitis and a sinus infection. After a trip to the walk in clinic ($$$) and some prescriptions ($$$), I am starting to feel a little better.

Thank goodness I’ll be feeling better because it’s fall. It is officially fall in Vermont and it is officially my favorite time of year. This is the time of year where I take the long way home on the dirt roads littered with bright leaves. I bundle up, open my windows and smell that sweet fall smell (death and decay… I know). I love everything fall, clearly, but I especially love the food. Pumpkin and squashes, soups and stews, the crock pot and stock pot, turkeys and thanksgiving… oh I could word vomit fall associations for hours! But I will spare you…

To usher in the fall season, I opened the windows, turned on the oven and made one of my favorite fall flavored goodies. I have no idea where my mom got this recipe, but she’s been baking these for the past few years. They are super easy, moist, and perfectly pumpkiny!

Pumpkin Chip Cookies

1.5 cups butter

1 3/4 c. brown sugar

1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

4 c. flour

2 c. oats

2 tsp baking soda

3 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

3 c. chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 350°F

1. Cream butter and sugar.

2. Beat in pumpkin, egg, and vanilla.

3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda and powder, cinnamon and salt.

4. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the creamed mix.

5. Stir in chocolate chips.

6. Drop by spoonful (or a loosely packed 1/4 cup) onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes!

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Homemade Pumpkin Puree | A Quiet Existence

Leave a Reply

