Blueberry Apple Crisp

I always thought teacher’s had it made- they get days off all the time. Now that I am in a classroom (NOT as a student), I realize the days off are few and far between and teacher’s are generally so exhausted that being productive is difficult. Today, I managed to get up at 7:45 and head off for a 2 mile hike at 9am! I thought it would energize me for the remainder of the day, but I’ve crashed pretty fast. So much for a day off.

I did manage to get my hands a little dirty in the kitchen, while attempting to clean out our under-stair closet (I found 3 decoy turkeys and a turkey call, which kept Boomer occupied for a few minutes). Because it has been chilly and we are avoiding turning on the heat, using the oven is our go-to when the nights are chilly. I can heat the house AND make something tasty- perfect!

Blueberry Apple Crisp

4 medium tart apples

2 cups blueberries (I used our frozen blueberries)

1/2 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

4 tbsp butter

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Peel and chop apples and lay in the bottom of a medium sized casserole dish. Sprinkle the blueberries on top.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together the oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, and spices. Melt the butter and mix into the dry ingredients until it becomes crumbly.

3. Spread the oatmeal crumbles over the blueberries and apples. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until apples are soft. Serve warm (with a drizzle of warm cream or ice cream).

Even though I’m currently nodding off… our hike was worth it.

The sun peeked over the trail as we neared the top.

Just a tiny layer of snow dusted some hemlocks. The smell was intoxicating. 

A beautiful sight awaited us at the top.

Leave a Reply

