Traditional Thumbprint Cookies and Why I’ve Been M.I.A.

IMG_0213

Why I’ve been M.I.A.:

1. We moved. A kind of last minute opportunity popped up to move and we made the decision to do so. We upgraded a bit; left our apartment (which I loved, so I cried) and moved into a house with the longest driveway ever… literally an over-the river-and-through-the-woods driveway. The house is only about 5 miles down the street in the town next to us and is sitting on the property with the sugar-house Ty boils at. Did I mention it was a real log-cabin? Yep- straight up Vermont. At least the kitchen is HUGE!

IMG_0194

2. We have no internet. I never thought I would miss it as much as I have, but after 3 weeks of staying late at school, I’m ready for it. We got cable last Friday and should get internet and phone today. We also have really spotty cell-coverage, which just leads to frustration and “WHAT’S!?!?!”

3. I was in the midst of my solo-teaching. While this went very well, I am extremely burnt out. The kids gave me great feedback, my supervisor did as well, so hopefully this career change will work. I also got offered a job at the high-school for a few weeks in January (maybe longer)!! Wa hoo.

4. It’s the holidays. My Christmas shopping and gift making is essentially non-existent, but I did splurge a little lot on myself and got a new camera, which I was playing with while we got our Christmas tree (a Canon t3i… thanks Amazon for an amazing deal on 3 lenses!). I almost don’t feel like it is December or Christmas…

IMG_0103

There are probably a hundred other reasons why I’ve been slacking here, but those are main reasons. I hopped back in the kitchen last week and made a t.e.r.r.i.b.l.e dinner 😦 So on Sunday, as it snowed, I whipped out the baking gear and made some Christmas cookies hoping it would kick-start my lack of kitchen-talent lately.

Traditional Thumbprint Cookies

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Fruit jam of your choice (I used homemade blueberry!)

Mix dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Slowly add dry ingredients to the creamed butter mixture while mixing until a dough forms. Dough can be refrigerated for up to 1 day or frozen for up to 6 months.

IMG_0209

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Break off small pieces of dough and roll into a ball between your fingers. Press onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Using your thumb, press an indentation into the cookie. Cookies should be about 1-1.5 inches across. Fill each indentation with a teaspoon of your favorite jam. Strawberry, blueberry, and raspberry work well. I used some homemade blueberry spread that I made this summer… it was the leftover from making blueberry syrup and it tastes delish! Bake for 10-12 minutes.

IMG_0217

I woke up to a little white stuff this morning (the view from our house). Finally a few flakes in Vermont!

5 thoughts on “Traditional Thumbprint Cookies and Why I’ve Been M.I.A.

Leave a Reply

