Beet and Avocado Salad

IMG_0514

A while back, Ty and I went to a friend’s house for dinner. She is basically a vegetarian and eats gluten free. I’ve always loved what she cooks and envy her creativity. She served us up a delicious meal of avocado and beet salad and vegetarian chili. I fell in love with the salad and have attempted to re-create it multiple times; she didn’t really have a recipe, so I took the idea and ran with it. I’d say this past re-creation was the best. Luckily I remembered exactly what I put in so I can share with ya’ll! Her salad had sprouts and a pear. I didn’t have any sprouts on hand or a pear, but I had a golden delicious apple, which did its delicious thing for this salad!

IMG_0506I never really liked beets until recently. Maybe it was the fact that the first time I had them, I was on a date with an ex-boyfriend. It left a bad taste in my mouth (if ya know what I mean). About a year ago, I tried them again. Their gorgeous deep purple bulbs and perky green and red leaves were calling me. They are also pretty easy on the wallet. As a matter of fact, in most grocery stores, I have found the organic beets to be the same price as conventional and with more weight per bunch. Beets are also extremely good for you. With one serving providing 11% DV of Vitamin C (peace out flu!!) 37% DV folate, and 16% DV dietary fiber among other important vitamins and minerals. Then we have avocados, which I am sure you all know are considered ‘super foods’. So what do you get when you put beets and avocados together? Why a super-healthy and super-filling salad of course (it’s filling enough as an entire meal for me).

Beet and Avocado Salad

3 medium beets

2 avocados

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Drizzle of evoo

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1/2 small onion, thinly sliced

1 apple (a sweet variety)

4 cups mixed greens (I used Olivia’s 50:50 blend)

S&P to taste

Preheat oven to 375°F. Scrub beets and clean tops (hint: leave about an inch of the stem still on the beet… this will reduce bleeding and thus reduce your chance to stain something!). Wrap the beets in foil and until soft; about 45 minutes. In the meantime, thinly slice the onion and chop the apple. Toss with the salad greens.

IMG_0511

In a small dish, peel and pit the avocados. Mince the garlic and add it the avocados. Mash with the evoo, cider vinegar, and lemon juice (a potato masher works really well). Season with S&P. When the beets are soft, remove from the foil and let cool to the touch. Using your fingers, remove the skins. Cut off the tops and dice. Add to the mixed greens and toss with the avocado mixture. Top with toasted almonds or sunflower seeds.

IMG_0507

Leave a Reply

