Craft Corner: DIY Mason Jar Air Freshener

IMG_1337

About a week ago I discovered this site: 41 Easy Things To Do With a Mason Jar. I knew mason jars were versatile and I’ve had plenty of crafty ideas sloshing around in my head, but I just didn’t know where to start! Since I’ve been canning, I have slowly collected HUNDREDS of mason jars of all sizes and shapes, so I decided to give one of the easier projects a shot. With a nail, hammer, baking soda, and essential oil, you can have a healthy and clean air freshener in about 5 minutes (including the “where-is-that-damn-hammer?” time!).

IMG_1296

SUPPLIES
Mason jar, with lid
Small Nail
Hammer
Baking Soda
Essential Oils (orange, lavender, etc.)
Scrap piece of wood
 

1. Using a piece of wood to protect your work surface, hold the nail on the lid face-up. Tap it a few times with the hammer until it pierces the lid. Remove the nail. Repeat until there are a good amount of holes (~10-15).

IMG_1298IMG_1297

2. Fill your mason jar about 1/4 full with baking soda. Add 10-20 drops of any essential oil. I used about 15 drops of orange oil (it’s cheap) and 5 drops of tea tree oil. It made a nice orange-mint type scent. Mix the baking soda and oil.

IMG_1299

3. Screw on the lid and place in a small room. It lightly scents the room while removing foul smells. Like I said, easy and healthy.

IMG_1324

IMG_1335

2 thoughts on “Craft Corner: DIY Mason Jar Air Freshener

Leave a Reply

