Gardens never cease to amaze…

IMG_1855

If any of you are from the North East, you probably considered building an ark in the recent weeks, too. Daily dog walks involved mud boots and rain coats. I even contemplated buying rain pants! My poor garden got flooded during a huge storm at the end of May… like, water rushing through the garden from the nearby normally peaceful river – serious flooding. At the point of flooding, we had only planted herbs, onions, garlic, and loads of seeds. Luckily we plant in mounded rows, so they withheld a lot of the force of the water, but the soil and established plants took a beating during the flooding and the following weeks of rain (2nd wettest June on record).

IMG_1860Alas, sunny and hot (and humid) weather has arrived. Things are starting to dry out. Last weekend we weeded for hours and I left feeling blue, which is never how I feel after a day in the garden. I had posted toward the end of June that things were looking good, but all of those plants looked tired from trying too hard.  A few weeks later, they looked barely any bigger and were surrounded by weeds. I thought about giving up the whole gardening-thing.

IMG_1853

But this weekend, just a few days later, I was met with a pleasant surprise. Almost everything perked up, grew inches, started fruiting, and looked happy. It was an immediate endorphin rush. I pulled any new weeds with a smile on face. I was kneeling in the dirt on a sunny, hot day with sweat rolling down my back and bugs buzzing around my head when I thought to myself, a garden is truly an amazing thing. It was a good day.

IMG_1861

Our pepper plants are loaded! For the first time ever!

IMG_1862

A lesson from the garden: No matter how cloudy it is, the sun will shine again.

IMG_1852

The first of the slicing cucumbers are growing strong. The pickling cukes are still struggling, but I have faith.

IMG_1863

Black bean flowers are just beautiful.

IMG_1857

This is the earliest we have ever had tomatoes of this size! We are struggling with some early blight though… any tips for beating it? I am pruning like crazy.

IMG_1856

Our three tomatillo plants have bounced back and are already setting fruit… even though little buggers are still nibbling away!

IMG_1844And after all of that gardening… a much deserved dip at a local swimming hole was enjoyed. We even got Boomer to jump from near the top (over 6 feet)!! I didn’t have my camera ready for that jump though.

Leave a Reply

