Lavender Blueberries in Simple Syrup

IMG_1906

Today was one of those days that just makes you love fresh air (and Vermont, if you are lucky enough to live here). After the heat wave and days of thunderstorms, it cleared off last night and led to a cool (57 degree!), beautiful, Sunday morning. A berry farm we visited last year, Pure Livin’ Farms, opened at 9 am and we were the second ones there to pick. It is a bumper blueberry crop this year. It took an extremely short amount of time to knock some 14 pounds off the bushes.

berries

I’ve recently read a lot, and have been interested in, canning whole berries. I found multiple recipes out there, but tweaked them a little. My main recipe came from ZoeBakes. I then added some lemon juice, homemade vanilla extract (instead of a bean) and lemon zest. What smelled incredible, I can only hope will turn out to be a great mid-winter treat! I dream, and drool, of a homemade lemon pound cake smothered in these berries…. aaaand fresh whipped cream!

And for those of you who are not canners, I promise you this is the easiest. I think I should have started with this! Remember that I didn’t grow up canning. What I know, I taught myself. Also, the recipe below is for a small batch. Three pint jars are all you need… just in case you don’t have 13 pounds of blueberries on your hands!

Canned Blueberries in Simple Syrup with Lavender and Lemon

Fresh, ripe blueberries – enough to fit in 3 pint jars

3 cups water

2 1/2 cup sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp lemon zest

3-6 springs fresh lavender flowers

1. Clean your pint jars and bring to a boil in a water bath canner. Let boil for about 10 minutes to sterilize.

2. Fill the hot jars with berries until just below the neck. Lay a lavender flower or two on the top of each jar and sprinkle a few pieces of lemon zest.

IMG_18973. Pour syrup over berries in each jar leaving 1-inch headspace. Top with sterilized lids, finger-tip tighten bands, and process in water bath for 10 minutes.

IMG_1931

Leave a Reply

